Mississippi Bans Abortion After 15 Weeks

pro-life

Mississippi has become the first state to ban abortion after 15 weeks of pregnancy, making it the toughest state on abortion in the nation.

Governor Phil Bryant signed this measure into law on Monday, claiming that it shall make the state ‘the safest place in America for an unborn child.’

Previously, the limit for an abortion in Mississippi was 20 weeks.

Whilst the new law (named the Gestational Age Act) gives no exemptions for cases of rape or incest, it does allow for abortion to be carried out if the mothers life is at risk or if the unborn child suffers from an abnormality making it ‘incompatible with life’.

Signing this into law, Gov. Bryant joked that ‘we’ll probably be sued here in about half-hour,’ though clarified that ‘that’ll be fine with me. It’s worth fighting over.’

He was not wrong about this. Indeed, the only abortion clinic in Mississippi soon attempted to block the law, which has been branded ‘unconstitutional’, by filing a complaint in federal court.

President Donald Trump, talking at the March For Life in January, said that his administration ‘will always defend the very first right in the Declaration of Independence, and that is the right to life.’

He added that current abortion laws are ‘wrong and must change.’

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here